Top comments

{{ annotation.praises_count }} Likes
{{ annotation.creator_alias }}
{{ annotation.creator_score }}

There are no comments yet. Be the first to start comment or request an explanation.


read all comments

1 Enakshi Ganguly = ""There are many incarnations of Durga: Kali, Bhagvati, Bhavani, Ambika, Lalita, Gauri, Kandalini, Java, Rajeswari, et al. Durga incarnated as the united power of all divine beings, who offered her the required physical attributes and weapons to kill the demon "Mahishasur". Her nine appellations are Skondamata, Kusumanda, Shailaputri, Kaalratri, Brahmacharini, Maha Gauri, Katyayani, Chandraghanta and Siddhidatri."Source:"
2 Enakshi Ganguly = "Maa Durga is especially celebrated in East India, within Bengali, Tripuran, Manipuri, Jharkandi, Bihari, Orriyan, and Assamiya communities. The Divine Shakti that she represents encompasses all facets of the Supreme (Kali, Lakshmi, Parvati, etc)."
3 Enakshi Ganguly = ""Durga Puja is also celebrated as a major festival in Nepal where 91% is Hindu, and in Bangladesh where the 8% population is Hindu. Nowadays, many diaspora Assamese and Bengali cultural organisations arrange for Durgotsab in countries such as the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, France, The Netherlands, Singapore and Kuwait, among others. In 2006, a grand Durga Puja ceremony was held in the Great Court of the British Museum.[4]"Source:"
4 Sarah Mangum = "Durga is depicted as having eight or ten hands. These represent eight quadrants or ten directions in Hinduism. This suggests that she protects the devotees from all directions."
5 Enakshi Ganguly = "What do the held object represent?"
6 Sarah Mangum = "Like Shiva, Durga is to referred to as the three-eyed Goddess. The left eye represents desire (the moon), the right eye represents action (the sun), and the central eye is knowledge (fire)."
7 Sarah Mangum = "The conch shell in Durga's hand symbolizes the mystic word 'Om', which indicates her holding on to God in the form of sound."
8 Sarah Mangum = "Vahana or mount, denotes the animal or mythical entity that a particular a Hindu deity uses as a vehicle.  Durga's mount is depicted as either a lion or tiger."