Top comments

{{ annotation.praises_count }} Likes
{{ annotation.creator_alias }}
{{ annotation.creator_score }}

There are no comments yet. Be the first to start comment or request an explanation.


read all comments

1 Enakshi Ganguly = ""To align the Koshas together Patanjali prescribed a system called Ashthanga or the 8-limbed path. The first five parts are the discipline part of Ashthanga, the doing part of it. The last three parts of the eight are internal – they are the outcome of practicing the five.(1) Yama – you and the worldAhimsa (Non-Violence), Satya (Truthfulness), Asteya (Non-Stealing), Brahmacharya (Abstinence), Aparigraha (Non-Covetousness)Yama is about how you behave internally, how you experience the world, and how you conduct yourself.(2) Niyama – rules for living in the worldShaucha (Purification),Santosha (Contentment), Tapas (Austerity & Detachment), Svadhyaya (Study & Mantras), Ishvarapranidhana (Surrender & Worship)Niyama means rule or discipline. Niyama are rules and disciplines of living physically, how you behave in conduct with yourself and with the world around you.(3) Asana – stabilizing body and mind.Asana is your connection with your own physical body. The whole purpose of Asana is to prepare the body for Pranayama(4) Pranayama – controlling vital energyPranayama ensures that Prana (life force or cosmic energy) can circulate completely throughout your body and can access different parts of your body when you breathe.(5) Pratyahara – withdrawing the sensesPratyahara is restraint. Pratyahara actually means to withdraw the senses, but it doesn’t mean detachment or to go into a mountain. It means to not identify unnecessarily, neither to be too attached to something, nor to be too detached from anything either. It’s best decribed as “balance”.Then you come to Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi, which are called the Antarangas. They are the internal limbs of yoga, because if you practice the first five limbs then they are the outcome.(6) Dharana – your ability to focus(7) Dhyana – your ability to meditate on something(8) Samadhi – your ability to access union with your true self, with that consciousness. Samadhi is that unifying consciousness, your true self.In summary: Yoga is bringing the Ashthanga together, in order to bring the Koshas together, in order to achieve Samadhi. Yoga is both, the practice and it is the goal."Source:"
2 Enakshi Ganguly = "The Four Paths of Yoga"