Top comments

{{ annotation.praises_count }} Likes
{{ annotation.creator_alias }}
{{ annotation.creator_score }}

There are no comments yet. Be the first to start comment or request an explanation.

Bhairava enthroned

read all comments

1 Enakshi Ganguly = ""Bhairava is Shiva at his most terrifying, at his most fearful. He may be understood as a particular manifestation, or emanation of Shiva, or as Shiva displaying himself at a very high level. In some myths, Shiva created Bhairava as an extension of himself, in order to chastise Brahma. Bhairava is the embodiment of fear, and it is said that those who meet him must confront the source of their own fears. His name describes the effect he has upon those who behold him, as it derives from the word bhiru, which means to become fearful - of feeling great fear. In some sources, Bhairava himself is said to have eight manifestations, including Kala (black), Asitanga(with black limbs), Sanhara (destruction), Ruru (hound), Krodha (anger), Kapala (Skull), Rudra (storm) andUnmatta (raging). "Source:"
2 Enakshi Ganguly = "Agasthiar"
3 Enakshi Ganguly = ""Ashta BhairavaThey guard and control the eight directions. Each Bhairava has eight sub Bhairavas under him. All of the Bhairavas are ruled and controlled by Maha Swarna Kala Bhairava, who is considered the supreme ruler of time of the universe and the chief form of Bhairava...Ashta Bhairava with their consort, vahana(mount), direction he guards are given below. Also given the consecrated temples inTamil Nadu, India, where people born on the listed nakshatras get his favours, thosa nivarthi (remedy for thosam) and their lucky stones (Raasi stone).""