text size

Ayurveda’s 9 Habits for a Long and Healthy Life

Top comments

{{ annotation.praises_count }} Likes
{{ annotation.creator_alias }}
{{ annotation.creator_score }}

There are no comments yet. Be the first to start comment or request an explanation.

Ayurveda’s 9 Habits for a Long and Healthy Life POSTED ON NOVEMBER 11, 2014 CATEGORIES: ABOUT AYURVEDA 1 Happy Vaidya Abhijit Jinde By Vedika Global Anchor Teacher Vaidya Abhijit Jinde, M.D. (Ayu) Ayurveda is entirely focused on achieving a healthy, meaningful, and long life. It believes that having a long lifespan is of no use if it is without health. In addition to taking care of one’s body and mind by making good choices in food and lifestyle, Ayurveda also recommends adopting some social habits and emotions that cultivate happiness and that ultimately make life more meaningful and purposeful. This increases the benefits of good food and lifestyle in promoting a long lifespan. For thousands of years, Indian culture and tradition has embraced certain emotions and actions not only as a social responsibility, but also as playing an active and participatory role in maintaining harmony, peace, and equanimity in society as a whole. Among many recommendations in Ayurveda for enhancing lifespan, I am quoting one beautiful verse from Ashtanga Hridaya, one of the three main scriptures of Ayurveda, by Acharya Vagbhata, which was written around the 7th century[1]. He has suggested the following nine “karmas,” or ”actions,” which can bestow longevity: 1. Dana­ (Charity): Sharing what you have with those who are in need instills a happiness that is very beneficial to physical and psychological health. 2. Sheela­ (Modesty): Good character eases the life journey and helps one gain respect, admiration, and build a good reputation. This, in itself, is motivating and satisfying. 3. Daya­ (Compassion): Keeps alive humanity, love, and reduces so many conflicts in life through forgiveness and support for others and self. 4. Satya­ (Truthfulness): Being truthful makes all our actions righteous and harmless to others. 5. Brahmacharya­ (Celibacy or mindful indulgence in sexual pleasures): Ayurveda believes that conscientious sexual activity protects and improves the health of the seventh bodily tissue (shukra dhatu), which is responsible for good immunity and strength. 6. Krutadnyata­ (Gratitude): Approaching life with gratitude helps one to be content towards what one has received in life and helps diminish the ego’s tendency towards attachment and arrogance. 7. Rasayana­ (Use of Rejuvenating food, herbs and other Ayurvedic medicines): This practice keeps the three bio-energies, seven bodily tissues, their channels, and digestion healthy and properly functioning, even in old age. 8. Maitri­ (Friendship): Being friendly to all, or having good friends, is important; socializing and sharing one’s emotions supports us on the journey of life. 9. Punya­ (Benevolent activities): Acting with kindness makes us feel better and keeps adding to one’s credits of good karma. Some of these karmas will come more naturally or easily to you than others, but all of them work together to create a long, healthy, and meaningful life. To make sure you’re embracing all of these habits, try setting an intention each morning to focus your energy on developing one or more of these karmas. Your mind, body, and spirit will thank you for it. [1] Ashtanga Hridaya Sharirasthanam, Chapter Three, Verse 120