Catholic Mass: 18th Sunday in Ordinary Time

Top comments

{{ annotation.praises_count }} Likes
{{ annotation.creator_alias }}
{{ annotation.creator_score }}

There are no comments yet. Be the first to start comment or request an explanation.


read all comments

1 Kelly Fanning = "Ordinary time is that time in the liturgical calendar outside the seasons of Lent, Easter, Advent and Christmas, when the Sundays are ordinal, that is counted as in a series. The Roman Catholic liturgical year begins with the season of Lent, which opens on Ash Wednesday. The Easter season follows Lent and continues until Pentecost. Advent is the season leading up to Christmas. Lent and Advent are penitential seasons. One of the distinguishing elements of the different liturgical seasons is the color of vestment worn by the priest. In ordinary time, the priest wears green vestments. Exceptions include red vestments, worn on the feast days of martyrs, and white vestments, worn on certain feast days of the Lord, Mary, angels and saints who are not martyrs. Vestments worn in penitential seasons are violet, except the third Sunday in Advent (Gaudete Sunday) and the fourth Sunday of Lent (Laetare Sunday) when the vestments are rose colored, signifying joy."